movie-actor photos-movie-actor movie-actor movie-star-photos images-actor-photos

Warner Baxter, Award Winner


Warner Baxter: Best Actor 1928/29:

In Old Arizona (Romance Western)

Warner Baxter received the Oscar for Best Actor for playing O. Henry's troubadouring bandito who robs the rich to aid the poor.

About Warner Baxter (1889 – 1951)

Warner Baxter was born on March 29, 1889 in Columbus, Ohio. In 1906 his family moved to San Francisco, ironically, just before the 1906 SF earthquake. Four years later Baxter was performing in Vaudeville acts. After gaining showmanship Baxter made the transition to the Broadway stage. Eventually, Baxter would find success as a silent film actor after his successful performance in his first film, Her Own Money (1914). His success rocketed after his lead role in 1926's The Great Gatsby. As the sun set on the era of the silent film, however, Baxter made his way into the star-studded casts of the talkies, as they were called back then.

His breakthrough role came as Cisco Kid in 1929's In Old Arizona winning him both notoriety and an Oscar. He would return to play the sequels, 1931's The Cisco Kid and 1939's The Return of the Cisco Kid. In 1933 he starred opposite Myrna Loy in Penthouse. That same year he gave a memorable performance as Julian Marsh in 42nd Street. In 1936 he gave a remarkable performance, what many consider his best, as Lincon's assassin's doctor in The Prisoner of Shark Island. His income of around $285,000 made him the most successful man in the industry.

Warner Baxter remained quiet over the next decade until he once again wowed audiences with his role as Dr. Ordway in the first of what would become the Crime Doctor series, (1943). Slowly, however, Baxter's health began to fail and in 1951 he died of pneumonia.

Warner Baxter's notable movie credits include...

The Arizona Kid (1930)
Daddy Long Legs (1931)
Paddy The Next Best Thing (1933)
42Nd Street (1933)
The King Of Burlesque (1935)
Broadway Bill (1934)
The Crime Doctor Series (1943, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1949)
One More Spring (1935)
The Prisoner of Shark Island (1936)
Slave Ship (1937)
The Road To Glory (1936)
Adam Had Four Sons (1941)
Prison Warden (1949)
State Penitentiary (1950)