movie-actor margaret rutherford actor movie-actor movie star margaret rutherford images-actor-photos

Margaret Rutherford,
Award Winner –

Rutherford in BLITHE SPIRIT.

Margaret Rutherford:
Best Supporting Actress 1963:

THE V.I.P.s (Drama)

Margaret Rutherford won her Best Supporting Actress Oscar for playing the confused and eccentric dowager traveling to Florida in THE V.I.P.s.

About Margaret Rutherford (1892 – 1972)

Margaret Rutherford began her career in on the London stage. Nine years before her birth, her father had murdered his own father, had attempted suicide, had been confined to a mental institution and then released. Her parents moved to India shortly after she was born. However, after her mother committed suicide by hanging when pregnant with her next child, Margaret was returned to England, where she was raised from the age of three by an aunt. At the age of 74 Margaret Rutherford received the honor of "Dame of the British Empire" from Queen Elizabeth.

In 1945, Margaret Rutherford recreated her stage role, the psychic Madame Arcate, in the Noel Coward play adaptation of Blithe Spirit. The movie details the marital travails of a couple who are haunted by the husband's deceased first wife, when Madame Arcate steps in. Then, in 1946, she played Miss Letitia Prism in the film adaptation of Oscar Wilde's The Importance Of Being Earnest.

In 1964, Rutherford won an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress in The V.I.P.s, as an absent minded, impoverished British Duchess, fogged in at an airport with other travelers, all in the midst of various personal crises.

Beginning in 1961, she portrayed the Agatha Christie sleuth, Miss Marple in a series of movies loosely based on the famous murder mysteries, starting with Murder She Said, followed by Murder At The Gallop, Murder Most Foul and Murder Ahoy. Although Christie herself was not enamored of the comic interpretation of her sleuth's character, not to mention the gross liberties that were taken with the plots of her stories in film adaptations, she did dedicate her 1963 novel, The Mirror Crack'd From Side to Side to Rutherford.

Rutherford was married to character actor Stringer Davis, who was devoted to her, her career, and to helping her through bouts of clinical depression. He appeared in all four Agatha Christie movies, at Rutherford's request.

Margaret Rutherford's notable credits include...

Talk Of The Devil (1936)
Missing Believed Married (1937)
Quiet Wedding (1941)
The Demi Paradise
Blithe Spirit (1945)
Meet Me At Dawn (1947)
Miranda (1948)
The Happiest Days Of Your Life (1950)
The Importance Of Being Earnest (TV Movie - 1946)
Curtain Up (1952)
Miss Robin Hood (1952)
The Runaway Bus (1954)
Mad About Men (1954)
The Smallest Show On Earth (1957)
Just My Luck (1957)
Mouse On The Moon (1963)
The Alphabet Murders (1965)
Arabella (1967)



Margaret Rutherford in Murder Ahoy (1964).